Carp Anglers Group Forums
Clay34

fly tying scraps

After tying up some smallmouth flies I looked in my waste basket and found some small pieces of chamois left over from the crawfish patterns that I was trying. While San Juan Worms are a very successful pattern for many carp, I have never done well on them, probably for lack of confidence in the patterns that I have tried. Yesterday I made up some chamois sjw inspired flies and they did well. The first was just a dubbed nymph style pattern with a little chamois tail. The second was more of a true knock off on a sjw pattern.

Both of these patterns the fish reacted to quickly when some other patterns were totally ignored.

Rick

post-3296-1280942256.jpg

post-3296-1280942304.jpg

Guest jimmadsen

WOW - nice flies!

I'm new to Carping (still have yet to catch my first) so seeing flies is a big help.

Thanks for sharing!

Welcome to the board Jim and welcome to fly fishing for carp. I'm going to give you just two links to audio programs. If you are serious about learning these are some of the best presentations on this game that I have seen for FREE on line.

http://www.askaboutflyfishing.com/speakers/brad/brad.cfm

http://www.askaboutflyfishing.com/speakers...ry-reynolds.cfm

Listen very closely to those two men, they literally wrote the book "Carp on the fly"

If fly patterns interrest you, at the top of the fly fishing section there is a "sticky" which shares some effective patterns - check it out.

Rick

Guest jimmadsen

Hey thanks, Clay!

Yeah - saw that post at the top - but it's also nice to hear from someone who is actively using a pattern and how they fish it.

I'm going to spend time in the car over the next two days so I'm going to burn those pod casts to CD and take them with me - thanks for sharing!

I have a pond nearby that is REALLY weedy but has a few carp in it so I'm going to try and see if I can't hook up with one of those rascals. Based on all the posts I've read, it should be the ride of my life!