Carp Anglers Group Forums
Ray Nickel

Mainline/Hooklength

With the weather improving I'm wanting to get prepared for heading out to downtown Joliet, or if the ice melts the retention ponds. At this time I am unable to afford getting crap reels or poles, But I have two Channel cat setups I have been using for the carp I mentioned in my introduction post. I am currently using !5lb. Berkely Big Game or 50lb. Power pro on the other. Those are the mainlines. For my leaders I wanted to go simple and supple, and I hear that Kryston Super Nova 25lb. may be a good call. I currently am using #8 swivels(Korda), And #8,#6 Korda Raptor Wide Gape Hooks,

I know that there is just a ton of Brands, Styles, Colors, Shapes and so on that I will probably learn about.

Since I am just starting out, Do you guys think that this tackle I have is OK to start with, or do you have anything you would alter or change for the hooks, lines hooklengths, hooks, and so on. I have a real problem with over thinking things, and just hoping I can start out little by little and kind of go from there,

Thanks all!

Ray

Mono or Flurocarbon can work just fine, too, and are much more budget-friendly.

I have lately used more combi rigs, a stiff section connecting to the swivel, and then a short section of braid to the hook to allow it to turn easier.

The coated braid hooklinks are nice in that you can do all this with out a knot or link in the middle, but I'm not sure they're worth the extra expense. IMHO.

I am still pretty new to carp fishing myself, but not knowing any different I just tied my hook lengths with regular 50 lb. PowerPro. I make them about 5 inches long. I had good success with 3 1/2" lengths in the spring, but based on my results from August to November I am convinced that 5" hook lengths are better for me / my style of fishing as an all season length.