Carp Anglers Group Forums
Willow

Time to get back into it

So its been far too long. Since I have been on the fringes of Carp fishing the last 5 years, with just token trips twice a year, now I am living next to a big lake its time to explore the Carp opportunities close to my new home.

Shore spots are hard to find here but now I am a resident in a lakeside community I get free parking at many parks which opens up a host of areas I could not come too without spending 30 bucks a day to park at while fishing. That and my new job gives me some hours spare with no more working all weekend every weekend.

So I have some of my favoured baits coming from Simon at Carp kit which will be added to the usual pigeon mix and corn for bulk feed along with a whole bunch of liquids/flavours I bought back from England last August, to top up the ton I already have.

So now finally the ice huts and ice have gone will wait for the temps to rise a little before getting some bait out to some spots I have marked as places of possible interest for Carp to visit. The bay here is shallow and early season I think will involve long chucks with the marker rod, spod and eventually baited rigs, to get to some slightly deeper water particularly during the day.

Will keep updates coming through the spring for anyone interested and if it goes well will try to get a fish-in up here which more than likely would be 2017.

tight lines and tangle free rigs to all

Nick

Very cool. Good luck, and tell us what happened...

Well good luck to you Nick.  It's a big lake so it has got to hold some big carp.  And I'll bet a lot of folks don't target them much up that way.  You may be a pioneer!

I know what you mean about parking and access, though, so I'm glad you've got that covered now.