Carp Anglers Group Forums
RedRiverJay

The mystery of the 1 pound carp

I was looking at the print edition of the North American Carp Angler, and the results of the FFF contest.  What interested me more than the stats of the big ones, were the stats about the small ("baby") ones.  The smallest ones in the north were essentially 3-4 pounds, and the smallest ones in the south were 6-7 pounds.

And, that agrees with my experience.  The smallest carp I have ever caught was 3 pounds.  Even with just a tiny hook, and 2-3 pieces of sweet corn, I've never caught a 1 or 2 pound carp.

Are my observations valid?  And if so, why is it so unusual to catch a 1-2 pound carp?

I'm not an expert, but my guess would be that they don't stay at that weight very long, so catching one would be a rare feat indeed.

Anyone else have an idea???

Theres a hole we call the Parasite Hole on a river that's gin clear. We could see probably over 100 carp  that were no more than a pound tops.

On out were bigger carp and on farther out yet bigger ones and way out 5 that were obviously over 20lbs possibly a 30 in the group. We could observe them due to the gin clear water and the fact we were 20ft above them on a bank that's almost a cliff. Only time we ever saw carp that small.

I tried to catch the huge ones but they just swam off when the bait hit the water out in front of them. Not sure how I would have landed one if I did hook it? Kind of a dumb move on my part to even try.

Reason we call it The Parasite Hole is a guy was trying to tell us we had parasites, he said "you know worms" and proceeded to tell us all about these parasites that were eating us up from within. lol

Bigger fish outcompete for the "better" food? Small carp don't live with the ones we seek out? They don't forage the type of stuff we fish with?