Carp Anglers Group Forums
Don_Morey

Who makes the best American Fly Rod & Reel?

Wow your looking to spend some $, I really like the tfo and the albright stuff the albright gpx reel is pretty sweet

It depends on how much money you want to spend and what fish you want to pursue. St. Croix make some good rods. I have access to all the major brands of blanks (moderators- delete the inappropriate text if this is not acceptable). Send me a PM and I'll be glad to give you a quote. I've been flinging fur and feathers off and on for about 45 years. Can send you some pictures of some rods I have built. For carp, I would suggest a medium fast or fast 9 ft. about 6/7 weight, although you will be using flies more in line with the size of trout flies, 5 or 6 wt. being the case. If you are just learning, lean more toward a medium to medium fast action. Fly line itself is as strong as steel cable. What breaks is the tippet or leader when hauling in a fish. You want a reel with a good adjustable drag (again, cost dictates the reel) and lots of backing. I've heard it recommended to have as much as 200 yards of backing; this from saltwater and salmon anglers. Hope this helps.

John Torchick

www.hiwasseecustomrods.com (under construction)

If we are talking about rod and reel combinations mainly for Cyprinus Carpio Flyslurpius, then I prefer the St. Croix Legend Elite Saltwater #8 and the Sage 4580. This is a good combo for Big Carp on the fly, with plenty of power where needed; it's also nicely balanced for a day's hard fluff-flinging.