Carp Anglers Group Forums

Need some basic pointers.

I'm new to the sight and carp fishing. Here's my history with carp

Summer 2013- Saw a giant grass carp swimming on the surface at the lake

Summer 2014- Hooked up to a 6 lb common by accident and broke me off at the bank.

That's it, now I'm obsessed.

I have a good idea how to go about fishing, just need a few pointers.

Hooks- what size and what kind of hook would you recommend to start? Is it any different for hair or bolt rigs?

Reel- I need a recommendation for a good reel that isn't gonna kill my wallet (it doesn't take much, either) and what line would is better, mono or braided?

Grass carp- I've talked to a game warden and the guy at the bait shop at the lake where I saw that giant grass carp. I truly believe it could be a Kansas state record. What bait would you use?

Hooks: get the sharpest and nice and strong. BigCarpTackle near Bartlesville, OK can get you set up.

Or, at a local store, try Owner or Gamakatsu live bait hooks. Sizes 6 and 4 will get you started.

Reel, line: if you prefer baitcasting reels, the Abu Garcia C3 6500 series is good. For spinning, try the Daiwa Opus Plus bait runner. They can both be had for less than $100.

Line: this is personal preference, really. for Braid, get 30 or 40 lbs strenth. Mono - 12 to 17 lb, any of the name brands, but go for the abrasion resistant models.

For grassers, sweet corn works great, as does bread.

All these are personal preference, but generally get the best gear you can afford.

Good luck!

Ah, that info is right under your forum name. :bonk: I am from Southeast Kansas but am currently in Northeast Kansas. I remember playing in baseball tournaments in Garden City back in the day.