Carp Anglers Group Forums
Bostoncarp

Boston area sight fishing

I am just getting into carp fishing and am looking for places to sight fish for them. I had a few places in Bosoton where fish were showing regularly through June but now I am having trouble. I know a few places where carp likely are in deeper water but I am looking to sight fish. Any suggestions would help, no need for a spot burn but a suggestion or point in the right direction would be really appreciated. I want to stay close to Boston on the cambridge side, a few miles tops. Happy to trade my spring early summer spots for summer locals if you want to PM.

Try the Alewife brook, and the paths along it.

Early in the day during summer i ways spot the most. Also a bike with rod holders is perfect for covering lots of water.

thanks for the replies. I find that the early morning are good but the angle of the sun makes it hard to spot fish. I'll try alewife. Anyone flyfish for carp here?

Anyone flyfish for carp here?

A little, but most of my experience doing it is out of state. I have a few spots in mind, but they are all full of weeds now so I'm waiting 'til the fall when the carp don't have a dependable food source. Then my flies will be more appealing; they just ignore them now because they have enough food.

You fly fish for carp?

For any kind of sight fishing, good polarized sunglasses and a hat are a must. The hat helps cut out glare. Pictures of your adventures are appreciated.

I am trying to flyfish for carp but often use corn in difficult to cast spots. I always wear a hat and polarized glasses but if the fish are not there they are just not there.

I am trying to flyfish for carp but often use corn in difficult to cast spots. I always wear a hat and polarized glasses but if the fish are not there they are just not there.

Have you landed one on the fly yet? It's actually pretty tough, compared to dumb fish like trout :P